The SC GOP debate

Posted: January 17, 2012 in conservatives, Economy, liberals, politics
Tags: , ,

Best part of the night? There were a few but the best was how Newt handled the obvious attempts by Juan Williams to inject racism in to his questions. There are plenty of links to the video. I happen to like this write up here.
While reading this article it occurred to me. Do people like Mr. Williams think that being a janitor is confined to people of color? Isn’t that a bit racist? What Newt and others are saying is this: when you’re young, get a job…any job. It won’t be the perfect situation, but you will learn from it. Do your best and once you have some experience, seek the next rung on the ladder. What is wrong with that stance? It’s loads easier to get a job if you have a job. Trust me on that.
Here’s some info about myself: I have an older sister. Said older sister informed my parents when she was in her teens that she wasn’t going to work until she had to, which is what she did. The day I turned 16, I got my license and drove around applying for work as a waitress in several local restaurants. She went to an all-girl college and worked some summers in the local library. Me? I was a waitress mostly on weekends all through high school. I knew deep down that by the time I was ready to go to college, there wouldn’t be any way my parents could send me. Luckily for my sister, she did get grant money but I’m sure dad poneyed up the rest. I was a bit brainless anyway and my first year of college (state-supported) was a joke. So I moved back home, got another job as a waitress, and started going to the local community college to learn a viable skill.
While trying to build a clientele, I still worked as a waitress, cut hair on the side, and…wait for it…was a janitor. Yep..you read that right. I mopped floors, cleaned toilets, swept racquetball courts, vacuumed, and so on at this local country club. I’d go in at 4 am and be done before the members started arriving and it was hard, lonely work. I did what I had to do and continued doing it even after I was ready to go back to college. Once my head was screwed on a little better (nothing like doing the aforementioned jobs to convince you that’s NOT what you want to do for the rest of your life) I went back to school. Still working as a waitress, cutting hair in trade for textbooks, and using work study I paid my way through. Made decent grades by that time too. Funny how when you’re footing the bill you make it count.
Back to my point though. It’s wrong for anyone to think that telling someone to get a job, even if it’s at the lowest end of the employment spectrum means they’re racist. If you believe in personal responsibility, you will do what you need to do to better yourself. You understand that what happens in your life is determined largely by how you set goals and work to achieve those goals. No one owes any of us shit. Hear that Occupoopers? That’s the difference in the way a conservative views things and a liberal’s view. Conservatives believe in equality of opportunity. Liberals believe in equality of outcome. Which makes more sense?

Leave a Reply

